A new global girl group is about to take the music industry by storm! Music giants HYBE and Geffen Records revealed the final six members of the highly-anticipated girl group KATSEYE during the conclusion of the talent reality show The Debut: Dream Academy. 

On Friday, November 17, the two-hour live finale held in Los Angeles, introduced the final six members: Daniela, Lara, and Megan from the United States; Yoonchae from South Korea; Sophia from the Philippines; and Manon from Switzerland. Collectively, the group will be known as KATSEYE.

In a press release, HYBE chairman Bang Si-hyuk expressed pride in their “unprecedented collaboration” with Geffen Records. “We are very proud of the results and of all the contestants who joined us in this project. We wish KATSEYE much success as we are sure they will inspire fans across the globe,” he added. 

Meet the KATSEYE members

For the finale, the Top 10 were divided into three groups, where they’re tasked to perform an exclusive song. Then, the final members were selected through a combination of early votes, real-time votes during the live finale, and evaluator’s scores. 

First to be revealed part of the lineup is 20-year-old Sophia Laforteza from the Philippines. Since she was three years old, she’s been singing and called it her “first love.” 

Next to be called  is Indian-American delegate from the United States, Lara Raj. According to Netflix, the 18-year-old contestant has previously appeared in a campaign for Michelle Obama’s Global Girls Alliance campaign. 

Then, Yoonchae Jeung, a 15-year-old candidate from South Korea, was announced to be part of the lineup. She’s followed by 17-year-old Megan Skiendell from the United States. 

Rounding up the group are Daniela Avanzini, a 19-year-old from the United States, and Manon Bannerman, a 21-year-old from Switzerland, who were called to be the fifth and sixth members of KATSEYE. 

 Given their diverse experiences and cultural backgrounds, each member is expected to bring a unique set of skills and perspectives to KATSEYE. 

What’s next after ‘The Debut: Dream Academy’ 

In September, South Korean entertainment company HYBE and American record label Geffen Records, launched The Debut: Dream Academy to search for their next global girl group.  Only 20 girls from different countries were selected over 120,000 applications to participate in the show. 

Over a course of 12 weeks, the participants took on several missions where they were narrowed down to 10 finalists.  The three songs from the finale, namely “Dirty Water,” “Girls Don’t Like,” and “All the Same,” can now be enjoyed on YouTube.


Now, KATSEYE is set to commence work on their upcoming debut album, which is scheduled for release in 2024. 

Apart from their debut track, a Netflix documentary series about the group’s journey is also slated for 2024. Said docuseries will be directed by Emmy-nominated filmmaker Nadia Hallgren, and is jointly produced by HYBE, Interscope Films, and Boardwalk Pictures.

Featured image: ‘The Debut: Dream Academy’ reveals first group photo of KATSEYE. Credit: Twitter/Dream Academy