BTS‘s Jungkook, SEVENTEEN‘s Vernon, and (G)I-DLE‘s Soyeon became full members of the Korea Music Copyright Association (KOMCA) on January 31. Jungkook is now credited as the songwriter of 22 songs and versions on KOMCA. “Dreamers” and “Dreamers (Live Version)” have been added to his portfolio. He has also had a hand in writing some of his group’s hits, including “Magic Shop” and “Run BTS.” Jungkook joins his fellow BTS members j-hope, RM, and SUGA as full members.

BTS Jung Kook becomes KOMCA regular member

Vernon is the second member of SEVENTEEN after Woozi to be promoted as a full member of KOMCA. With 88 songwriting credits to his name, he’s also the member with the second most contributions to the group’s discography, after Woozi. Vernon wrote lyrics for hits such as “Mansae,” “Left & Right,” and “_WORLD.” He also helped compose the music for “_WORLD.”

Meanwhile, (G)I-DLE’s Soyeon was acknowledged for her role in writing, composing, and producing her group’s hits. These include “Tomboy,” “Queencard,” and “Nxde.”

KOMCA plays a key role

KOMCA came on the scene in 1964. It plays a key role in administering public performance, broadcasting rights, and mechanical recording and reproduction rights of musical works within South Korea. It also compiles all credits of artists in musical works and announces its list of full and junior members annually. To become a full member, artists must meet several criteria. They must earn at least 30M KRW per year in royalties, receive approval from the board of directors, and be a junior member for a minimum of three years. 

(G)I-DLE – ‘Nxde’ Recording Behind

KOMCA is the second collective rights management organization for musical works in Asia. It joined the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) in 1979. KOMCA became an associate member of the International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC) in 1987. It became a full member in 1985. 

G-Dragon from BIGBANG was the first K-pop idol to become a full member of KOMCA, followed by BLACKPINK‘s Jennie and Jisoo. Other idols who made the cut include BTOB’s Hyunsik, IU, Stray KidsBang Chan, Changbin, and Han (3RACHA), and WINNER’s Mino and Seungyoon. – K-Pop News Writer

Featured Image: Congratulations, Jungkook, Seoyeon, and Vernon! Sources: Facebook/@KOMCAGLobal, X/@_candyclover, X/@17thCent, and X/@VeraHsu1010.