RM, Jin, Suga, J-Hope, Jimin, V, and Jungkook have formally accepted their special documentations as special presidential envoy from South Korean President Moon Jae In, officially making BTS diplomats of South Korea just a week ahead of their attendance to the United Nations General Assembly session in New York.

On September 14, Moon presented BTS their certificates as South Korea’s “Special Presidential Envoy for Future Generations and Culture.” The seven members of BTS attended the awarding ceremony at the Blue House in Seoul, South Korea, along with Big Hit Music President Shin Young Jae and HYBE executive Lee Jin Hyung. With this official designation, the Bangtan Boys also received their Republic of Korea diplomatic passports.

BTS continues to prove that they are more than just another K-pop act. As with any country, diplomatic passports are only awarded to a few, qualified individuals. Along with their new status as diplomats comes expectations that the OT7 will be deployed for more official government businesses.

In July 2021, President Moon announced BTS’s appointment as Special Presidential Envoys for Future Generation and Culture. With this officially sealed, the septet will accompany him at the 76th session of the U.N. General Assembly (September 21 to 30, 2021). For their first diplomatic duty, BTS will deliver a message during the Sustainable Development Goals Moment (SDG Moment) of the Decade of Action session.

Featured image: (From L-R) BTS’s V, Jungkook, RM, Jin, Suga, Jimin, and J-Hope are now officially diplomats of South Korea. Photo: BTS_official/Twitter