Mark your calendars, MONBEBEs! Shownu and Hyungwon of K-pop boy group MONSTA X are gearing up to make their debut as a sub-unit with the release of the mini-album THE UNSEEN.

On Wednesday, June 28, the act released a teaser image of what appeared to be a rear view mirror reflecting an industrial building, along with the message “Coming soon.” 


THE UNSEEN is slated for a July 25 release. As of writing, additional details about the track list and title track have yet to be disclosed. 

Prior to the teaser, MONSTA X also unveiled a logo motion video for the sub-unit, which showed the two members’ initials merging into one. 

In an interview with VOGUE KOREA, Shownu talked about how he and Hyungwon are preparing for their sub-unit debut. “They’re all good,” he said. “When I ask for song recommendations, he sends them through KakaoTalk and he mainly listens to songs he could’ve written. Good and modern music.”

Despite not having made their official sub-unit debut yet, the duo is also confirmed to perform at the Krazy K-pop Super concert in New York and KCON in Los Angeles in August. 

Starship Entertainment first confirmed in May that Shownu and Hyungwon will form a sub-unit – marking MONSTA X’s first sub-unit in the group’s eight-year career. 

It will also serve as Shownu’s first official activity following his discharge from the mandatory military service last April. 

Shownu and Hyungwon’s sub-unit debut comes after solo releases of fellow MONSTA X members. In May, Jooheon made his solo debut with the album Lights, while I.M made his solo comeback in June with the mini-album Overdrive

MONSTA X, who made their debut in May 2015, is known for their hits “Love Killa,” “Hero,” “Shoot Out,” “Dramarama,” “Gambler,” and Beautiful Liar.” 

Featured Image from Monsta X’s official Facebook page